top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Jenkins

the world of magazines


Magazines have been around for hundreds of years, helping spread around information for different areas, and to showcase art. Looking into the magazine world now, we see mainly two forms of magazines. One is the printed version, where you can buy online or in-store, the second being online where you can buy this online. As my digital artefact is chàe, we release our magazines digitally for our audience to access, but recently we have been looking at whether a printed option should be made available. Our magazines are released on a platform where they access our magazine for free and are able to download it, but we also want to dive into how much it would benefit us as well as how much would people be willing to pay for our magazine issues?



So in order to conduct this investigation, I have decided to look at the company frankie. frankie is an Australian magazine that explores many aspects including art, stationery, travel, music, photography and many more. I ordered a few magazines that I will be reading and giving my thoughts on while comparing it back to chàe as we are only online, but also to what we offer as a company. This is an auto-ethnography study as it is coming from my opinions and thoughts, this study I will be reflecting on personal experiences and the representations that I see.






I decided to order two issues from frankie magazine, as the investigation continues between online vs printed magazines, and finding out what is better for chàe's audience. From these two magazines, I will go through what content they produce, how they may interact with their audience and what chàe does the same or different. I bought the recent two issues they released so I will be referring back to the last two issues chàe had released as well. I was going to expand my research to more magazine but I think it will work better if it is just the one magazine focus and the other little sectors surrounding for the research. I will be doing blog posts to document this over time. 


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page