top of page
  • Writer's pictureChàe Media

To Cook or Not to Cook

What to have when you can’t be bothered


Breakfast. The “most important meal of the day” or so they say, but if you’re anything like me (and I’m a qualified chef that is still very much like this) you don’t really ever feel like cooking yourself any food. Now I know that there are tonnes of books and recipes out there aimed at specifically this. The “5 ingredients easy” books or the “quick and fast ideas” type of recipes that everyone seems to get and think, ‘I would cook that, it’s so easy!’ Would you really though? I have a few of those books or recipes saved and I definitely still don’t use them when I’m hungry but lazy. So, here is something I do actually cook myself a lot, for breakfast, lunch or dinner too, when I am hungry and cannot be bothered cooking myself food.


My super, super easy omelette! (or scrambled eggs if you’d like)


This recipe is so easy because you don’t even really need to buy anything, it’s based on everything you would already have. Simple right? It really is.


For my omelette I used what I had in the fridge, so eggs (obviously), milk or cream, bacon, baby spinach, mushrooms and cherry tomatoes. You can use almost anything, it’s all preference and specific to you!


INGREDIENTS
- 4 x eggs – this makes for a nice pan-sized omelette
- ¼ cup cream or milk – whatever you have in the fridge is fine (if lactose intolerant it’s not completely necessary it just helps bulk the eggs and makes it a little fluffier)
- About a handful each of anything you want or have! (chopped up to fit inside your omelette)

METHOD


  • Firstly, get all your ingredients out chopped and ready to go on the bench. I then like to pre-cook my filling, but you don’t have to.

  • Then crack your eggs into a bowl with your milk or cream and whisk that up until it’s all combined into an egg mix. I add salt and pepper to my egg mix for seasoning, it helps give the eggs better flavour. (If using foods like bacon or other salty food don’t add to much salt as it will be overpowering)

  • After all your ingredients are ready to go get your hotplate to medium heat, most stoves have numbers or something to resemble numbers, mine goes up to 6 so to me a medium would be 4. (You should go to one higher number than the actual number in the middle because you want your eggs to fry and not just steam)

  • After your hotplate is hot add your pan and get that heating as well! (Most fry pans should work just try and make sure it’s non-stick of you could end up with scrambled eggs)

  • Either spray your pan with oil or use your choice of oils/butter to grease the pan, then add your eggs. (You should hear them hit the pan with a sizzle that’s how you’ll know your pan was hot enough- if it's smoking it’s TOO hot turn it down and remove the pan so the eggs don’t burn)

  • Now that your eggs are nicely cooking in the pan get your egg flip and around the outside of your forming omelette slightly pull the edged towards the centre so the middle can move to the outside and cook. (This helps to have an evenly cooked omelette)

  • While your eggs are still a bit runny in the middle add your filling ingredients then pop a lid that fits around your omelette onto it to give the top of your omelette a quick cook with steam. (Alternatively, you can have the grill heating and put it in there to cook the top of the omelette but make sure your fry pan can go in there!)

  • You’ll know when it’s done when your eggs are cooked, you can attempt to fold the omelette over onto itself but it isn’t necessarily so just serve and enjoy!



Blog by Tameyka Arellano

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page