top of page
  • Writer's pictureChàe Media

Poem of The Week - Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell


 

You're beautiful

Without even trying

But each time

I bring you a flower

It ends up dying

And you don't see

How I look at you

You just keep crying

And the saddest part

Is that you're so special

But you think I'm lying


 

Have you ever felt like you’re not good enough no matter what people have said to you?

I know you have, we all have. It’s a hard feeling and one people don’t talk about as much, even though everyone feels it at some point.

I have pushed people away from me because I didn’t feel good enough for them, pretty enough, smart enough or happy enough in myself so they couldn’t possibly see the good in me.

I have had people compliment so many things about me just to smile, say nothing or thank them but never actually believe them. I thought they must be lying, I’m not anything special so why would I believe them?

I think it’s important that everyone talks more about how things in our lives make us feel more, especially when it comes to things like self-appreciation and self-love. What makes it hard is that no matter what people say we will always just believe what is in our heads and that is dangerous because sometimes the voice in our head is the worst one we can hear.


 

I want more people to look at themselves and think;


  • I am beautiful

  • I am smart

  • I am funny

  • I am witty

  • I am caring

  • I am and always will be enough


 

You may not feel like that every day and that is so okay. The important thing is to try, just that, try.


Try your best to look at yourself and believe you are enough because I can say from experience that I have come a long way in my life from feeling inadequate in every way to waking up every morning, just doing my best and feeling better for it.

Now my best may not be the best for everyone and I have come to terms with that, but when people compliment me now I will believe them. People see things in you even if you don’t.


We all need to be more accepting of ourselves. We have become very good at accepting others but somehow left ourselves out. Show more self-love and respect to grow. Flourish, then show love and respect to others.


Life is hard but it is beautiful and my lovely people you are more than beautiful too.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page